Indian Prime Minister voted by TIME readers as the ‘Person of the Year,' Trump ultimately selected

WSYR-TV - The majority vote of TIME readers pick of the ‘Person of the Year’ did not go to Donald Trump.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi was voted the highest by readers with 19 percent of the vote, beating out President Barack Obama, President-elect Donald Trump and Julian Assange, editor-in-chief of WikiLeaks.

However, the Person of the Year is selected by TIME editors. The readers’ vote is generally seen as a gauge of popularity and doesn’t influence the final choice, who was announced Wednesday as Donald Trump.

The official Person of the Year is someone who is ‘most influenced the news, for better or worse.’

More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News

Video Center