Crunch drops regular season finale to Utica in a shootout

Local News

UTICA, N.Y. (SYRACUSE CRUNCH) –

After the Syracuse Crunch built a two-goal lead, the Utica Comets rallied back to take the win, 4-3, in a shootout tonight at the Adirondack Bank Center.

The Crunch finish the 2018-19 regular season with a 47-21-4-4 record and North Division title.

Atte Tolvanen made 39 saves in net for the Crunch and stopped 1-of-3 shootout attempts. Marek Mazanec earned the win blocking 15-of-18 shots and 2-of-3 shootout attempts. Syracuse went 1-for-3 on the power play, while Utica was 2-for-8.

The Crunch jumped out to a quick lead with a power-play goal just 3:49 into the game. Mitchell Stephens gloved down the cross-zone feed from Carter Verhaeghe for Alex Volkov to sweep in.

Syracuse doubled their lead 4:09 into the middle stanza when Otto Somppi beat Mazanec on the breakaway. The Comets then stole one back at the 7:50 mark with a power-play goal of their own. Brendan Woods cleaned up a rebound in front of the net with the help of Lukas Jasek and Jesse Graham.

The Crunch went back up by two late in the second period. Volkov cut across the slot and left the puck for Nolan Valleau to jam in.

Utica cut the lead to one with 2:26 remaining in the middle stanza. Tolvanen made the save on Vincent Arseneau’s one-timer, but left the rebound out for Arseneau to chip in. Assists went to Woods and Jasek.

The Comets came back to force overtime with another power-play goal just 32 seconds into the third period when Zack MacEwen jammed in a second-chance opportunity. Tanner Kero and Graham earned the helpers.

After a scoreless overtime period, the game went to a shootout. Nick Bligh and Jasek both scored in the second round before Kole Lind potted the game-winner in the third.

The Crunch will face the Cleveland Monsters in the first round of the 2019 Calder Cup Playoffs. The best-of-five North Division Semifinals series begins in Syracuse on Friday at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area