SYRACUSE, N.Y. (WSYR-TV) — Micron President and CEO Sanjay Mehrotra, and other top executives including New York Governor Kathy Hochul spoke in Downtown Syracuse, Friday, April 28.

At the Oncenter in Downtown Syracuse, where the governor, top Micron executives and the Onondaga County Executive are gave an update on the massive project.

The company plans to invest up to 100-billion dollars over the next 20-plus years to build a new megafab in Clay, to make computer chips. They all took a trip to the site at White Pine Commerce park this morning, where they say digging has begun.

The CEO has also announced the environmental survey has started.

Community Engagement committee formed to advise project

The members of the community engagement committee were announced Friday. This committee will support the company’s community investment strategy.

Members include:

  • April Arnzen – Senior Vice President and Chief People Officer, Micron
  • Karen Belcher – Executive Director, Food Bank of Central New York
  • Donna DeSiato – Superintendent, East Syracuse Minoa School District
  • Bishop Ronald Dewberry – Senior Pastor, New Life Temple of Praise
  • Kristi Eck – Chief of Staff, SUNY Oswego
  • Courtney Geduldig – Corporate Vice President, Global Public and Government Affairs, Micron
  • Mark Hall – President and CEO, Syracuse Community Health
  • Jasenko Mondom – Employment Specialist, Refugee Assistance Program at Syracuse City School District
  • Meg O’Connell – Executive Director, Allyn Family Foundation
  • Hazel Powless – Haudenosaunne Environmental Task Force, Onondaga Nation
  • Kerry Quaglia – Founder and CEO, Home HeadQuarters
  • Sheena Solomon – Executive Director, The Gifford Foundation

Ex Officio Members

  • Rob Beard – SVP and General Counsel, Micron
  • Kevin Younis – COO and Executive Deputy Commissioner, Empire State Development
  • Isabelle Harris – Director of Strategic Initiatives, Onondaga County
  • Sharon Owens – Deputy Mayor, City of Syracuse
  • Damian Ulatowski – Supervisor, Town of Clay

Melanie Littlejohn, Vice President for New York Customer and Community Management at National Grid, and Tim Penix, Vice President of the Syracuse Educational Opportunity Center, have been selected as the committee co-chairs