Crunch fall in shootout to Binghamton

Syracuse Crunch

Courtesy: Binghamton Devils

The Syracuse Crunch claimed one point as the team fell to the Binghamton Devils, 6-5, in a shootout tonight at Floyd L. Maines Veterans Memorial Arena.

The loss puts the Crunch at 18-16-2-2 on the season and 1-1-0-1 in the weekend’s three-in-three. Syracuse now sits at 3-1-0-2 in the 10-game season series against Binghamton.

Goaltender Mike Condon turned aside 32-of-37 shots and 2-of-3 shootout skaters in net for the Crunch. Gilles Senn stopped 25-of-30 and all three shootout attempts between the pipes for the Devils. Syracuse converted on 1-of-3 power play opportunities and went 9-for-11 on the penalty kill.

The Crunch were first on the board and built a 3-0 lead seven minutes into the game. Alex Barre-Boulet opened scoring at just 1:41 when he tipped Cameron Gaunce’s left point shot. Four minutes later, Boris Katchouk got a stick on Gaunce’s rising shot from the blue line on the power play. Syracuse added another tally at 7:03 after Senn made the save on Devante Stephens’s left-wing shot, but the rebound dropped down for Gemel Smith to sweep in.

The Devils finally responded and stole one back just as their power play expired at the 10:57 mark. Brett Seney redirected Nick Merkley’s shot from the right circle. Kyle Cumiskey tallied the secondary helper.

Binghamton came back within one 2:47 into the middle stanza. After getting a pass from Matt Tennyson, Chris Conner rushed into the zone and fed Joey Anderson across the slot for shot from the right circle.

Syracuse took back a two-goal lead with 7:16 remaining in the second period. Barre-Boulet battled for the puck along the left-wing boards and sent it up for Stephens to fire from the point. His shot was blocked, but Martel was in the slot to chip in the rebound.

The Devils capitalized on the power play 3:14 into the final frame to pull within one for a second time. Anderson threw a feed for Mikhail Maltsev to score backdoor. Seney made it a multi-point night with an assist on the goal.

The Crunch added another at the 12:14 mark, but the Devils stole it back a minute later and went on to tie the game off consecutive goals from Merkley. Taylor Raddysh centered a slick feed from the end boards for Mathieu Joseph to send home from between the circles. Ross Colton continued his scoring streak with the secondary helper. Merkley then beat Condon from the right circle on the power play and forced overtime with a wrister as he cut across the slot.

After a scoreless overtime period, Brandon Gignac netted the game-winner in the third round of the shootout.

The Crunch are back in action on Wednesday when they travel to face the Lehigh Valley Phantoms

Single game tickets and packages for the 2019-20 season are on sale now and can be purchased in person at the Crunch office located inside the Upstate Medical University Arena at Onondaga County War Memorial at 800 S. State St. in Syracuse, by calling the office at 315-473-4444 or online through Ticketmaster. For the latest Crunch news, visit www.syracusecrunch.com or follow the club on Facebook (www.facebook.com/syracusecrunch), Twitter (@SyracuseCrunch) and Instagram (@syracusecrunch) using #SyrCrunch.

Crunchables: Alex Barre-Boulet recorded his 100th AHL point today…Boris Katchouk has goals in back-to-back games…Devante Stephens recorded his first career multi-point game today.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area