Absentee ballots will decide how towns and villages voted on marijuana sales

Your Local Election Headquarters

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (WSYR-TV) — Four communities in Onondaga County asked voters if they want to allow retail stores to sell marijuana or opt out.

100% of results from the in-person voters in Onondaga County are in and all of the races on the marijuana proposition are extremely close, some too close to call.

Both the town and village of Camillus are within the absentee ballot margin and will be decided after the absentee canvas on November 16, according to the Onondaga County Board of Elections.

As of Tuesday night, the Town of Camillus was the only municipality with voters in favor of prohibiting of marijuana sales and consumption.

The Village of Camillus, Town of Geddes, and Village of Tully all voted to allow marijuana sales and consumption in their community.

As a reminder, if you voted “yes” on the proposition, it means you want your local government to prohibit retail marijuana sales. If you voted “no” on the ballot, your vote is in favor of having marijuana sold and consumed in your community.

Town of Camillus

Village of Camillus

Village of Tully

Town of Geddes

In Cortland County, the Village of McGraw race is a dead heat. According to the Cortland County Board of Elections, 70 people voted “yes” in-person for prohibiting marijuana and 70 others voted “no,” which allows the sale and consumption of marijuana.

This is yet another race that’s too close to call. Absentee ballots will be the deciding factor. The final count will be done next week, November 9th. 

Majority of the in-person voters in the town of Homer voted to allow marijuana sales, according to the county’s unofficial results.

Under New York State’s Marijuana Regulation and Taxation Act (MRTA), local towns and villages have the opportunity to opt out of allowing retail dispensaries and on-site consumption licenses, such as cannabis lounges, to operate within their jurisdiction.

In order to opt out, towns and villages must adopt a local law by December 31, 2021. Municipalities will then apply for a “permissive referendum” which requests the state’s Cannabis Control Board prohibits retail dispensaries and on-site consumption within the municipality.

Cayuga, Madison, Oneida, Oswego, Seneca, Tompkins and Wayne counties did not have marijuana propositions on the ballot this year.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area