SU to face UNC-Greensboro in the first round of the NIT

Orange Nation
SU Basketball_1482370144129_14731276_ver1.0_640_360_1488601556797.jpg

After narrowly missing a spot in the NCAA Tournament, the Syracuse University men’s basketball team was given a No. 1 seed in the NIT.

The Orange will host UNC-Greensboro in the first round Tuesday at 7 p.m. at the Carrier Dome.

The Orange recorded quality wins over Florida State, Duke, and Virginia during ACC play, but those wins weren’t enough to sway an NCAA Tournament committee looking at an unremarkable 18-14 record and another early exit from the ACC Tournament in Brooklyn.

In addition, SU was just 2-11 away from the Carrier Dome this season.

Other top seeds in the NIT include Cal, Iowa, and Illinois State.

Click here to see the complete NIT bracket.

Click here to see a complete NCAA bracket.

Tickets for SU’s NIT game go on sale tonight at 11 p.m.

Ticket information is available on the SU athletic department’s website.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

SU Football Schedule

  • Saturday, August 31, 6 p.m.: SU at Liberty
  • Saturday, September 7, 12 p.m.: SU at Maryland
  • Saturday, September 14, 7:30 p.m.: Clemson at SU (on NewsChannel 9)
  • Saturday, September 21, TBD: Western Michigan vs. SU
  • Saturday, September 28, TBD: Holy Cross vs. SU
  • Thursday, October 10, 8 p.m.: SU at NC State
  • Friday, October 18, 7 p.m.: Pittsburgh vs. SU
  • Saturday, October 26, TBD: SU at Florida State
  • Saturday, November 2, TBD: Boston College vs. SU
  • Saturday, November 16, TBD: SU at Duke
  • Saturday, November 23, TBD: SU vs. Louisville
  • Saturday, November 39, TBD: Wake Forest vs. SU

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area