Crunch down Wolf Pack 3-2

Local Sports
Syracuse Crunch logo OTS_1549080719138.jpg.jpg

The Syracuse Crunch reclaimed first in the North Division with a 3-2 win over the Hartford Wolf Pack tonight at the War Memorial Arena.

The Crunch put up three unanswered goals before the Wolf Pack responded with a late comeback effort. The victory advances the team to 39-17-4-2 on the season while sweeping the home-and-home season series against Hartford.

Netminder Eddie Pasquale made it four consecutive wins stopping 24-of-26 between the pipes for the Crunch. Brandon Halverson turned aside 21-of-24 in net for the Wolf Pack. Syracuse was unable to convert on three power play opportunities and went 6-for-7 on the penalty kill.

The Crunch were first on the board just 1:07 into the game. Gabriel Dumont grabbed the puck from Cory Conacher along the left-wing boards and dropped it back for Alexander Volkov to net from the circle.

Syracuse doubled their lead with 33 seconds remaining in the middle stanza. Taylor Raddysh skated into the zone and stickhandled through traffic before sending a cross-slot pass for Andy Andreoff to redirect in. Ross Colton tallied the secondary helper.

Just 1:56 into the third period, the Crunch made it 3-0. Boris Katchouk deked around a defender, carried the puck below the goal line and centered it for Stephens to pick up and sneak in short side. Brady Brassart earned a point on the play.

The Wolf Pack finally got on the board with a power-play marker 11:51 into the final frame. Gabriel Fontaine tipped John Gilmour’s point shot down low. Matt Beleskey assisted on the goal.

Hartford pulled within one with 1:07 remaining in the game when Vinni Lettieri one-timed a rocket from the left circle with the help of Gilmour and Ryan Gropp, but Syracuse fended off the late surge to take the win.

The Crunch host the Binghamton Devils tomorrow at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area