Crunch top Amerks 4-1

Local Sports
Syracuse Crunch logo OTS_1549080719138.jpg.jpg

The Syracuse Crunch scored three power-play goals as they topped the Rochester Americans, 4-1, tonight at Blue Cross Arena.

The win gives the Crunch four of a possible six points on the weekend’s three-in-three and moves the team back into a tie with Rochester for the North Division lead with 75 points. The Crunch are now 35-17-3-2 on the season and 4-3-1-1 in the 12-game series with the Amerks.

Goaltender Martin Ouellette recorded the win with 36 saves in net for the Crunch. Scott Wedgewood turned aside 23-of-26 between the pipes for the Amerks. Syracuse converted on 3-of-8 power play opportunities and went a perfect 5-for-5 on the penalty kill.

The Crunch opened scoring during 5-on-3 play 7:24 into the first period. Carter Verhaeghe dug the puck out from the end boards and passed it for Andy Andreoff to net while all alone in the bottom of the left circle. Cory Conacher tallied the secondary helper.

The Amerks evened the score 3:57 into the middle stanza. Alexander Nylander kept the puck in the zone at the blue line, skated to the top of the right circle and ripped a slap shot just under the crossbar. Matt Tennyson and Taylor Leier earned the assists.

Syracuse regained the lead two minutes later with another man-up goal. Verhaeghe found a lane for a cross-zone feed that set Alex Barre-Boulet up for a backdoor one-timer from the right circle. Conacher made it a multi-point game with the helper.

The Crunch power play connected for another goal at the 12-minute mark of the middle stanza. Ross Colton’s centering feed from below the goal line was broken up, but Mitchell Stephens got a stick on the loose puck and shoveled it in. Cal Foote recorded a point on the goal.

With 1:09 remaining in the game, Boris Katchouk potted an empty-netter with the help of Stephens to secure the win.

The Crunch travel to face the Utica Comets on Wednesday at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area