SU punter Sterling Hofrichter named Ray Guy semifinalists

Local Sports


Syracuse redshirt senior punter Sterling Hofrichter (Valrico, Fla.) has been selected as one of the 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Ray Guy Award, the Augusta Sports Council announced on Monday, Nov. 18. The Ray Guy Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate punter and is named after the legendary College and Pro Football Hall of Famer.

The semifinalists were chosen from a field of 78 nominated candidates. The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contributions to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on net punting average, number of times a punt was downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned.

A three-year team captain, Hofrichter has kicked 61 times this season with a gross average of 44.1 yards per punt and a net average of 43.2 yards per kick. He leads the ACC with 25 punts downed inside the 20-yard line with just two touchbacks, and he’s tied for third in the league with 20 punts of 50+ yards. Additionally, Syracuse ranks third nationally in net punting as opponents have only 10 punt returns for 17 yards (1.7 avg.) against the Orange.

Hofrichter’s best performance of the season came against Clemson on Sept. 14. He averaged of 52.2 yards per kick on nine punts against the Tigers, the best one-game mark in team history for a player with more than five punts. Hofrichter hit a career-best six punts that traveled at least 50 yards, including matching his career long with a 65-yard boot. He was rewarded with ACC Specialist of the Week honors and voted the Ray Guy Award National Punter of the Week for the effort.

In 47 career games, Hofrichter has punted 262 times for 11,317 yards. His gross average of 43.2 yards per punt is currently on pace to be the third-best figure in program history.

A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three finalists, who will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25. Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to determine the winner, who will be announced live on Thursday, Dec. 12 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

One additional vote will be determined by college football fans. The winner of the fan vote will receive one vote that is equivalent to one national selection committee member’s vote. The vote will be included for the selection of the finalists and the winner.

For more information about the Ray Guy Award and to vote, visit

2019 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

Adam Korsak, Rutgers

Dane Roy, Houston

Joseph Charlton, South Carolina

Max Duffy, Kentucky

Michael Turk, Arizona State

Oscar Bradburn, Virginia Tech

Owen White, Navy

Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse

Tommy Townsend, Florida

Tyson Dyer, New Mexico

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area