Syracuse Crunch clipped by the Utica Comets

Local Sports

UTICA, N.Y. (SYRACUSE CRUNCH) –

The Syracuse Crunch dropped a 4-1 game to the Utica Comets at the Adirondack Bank Center tonight.

After giving up two goals, Danick Martel found the back of the net for the Crunch but team was unable to rally back from the deficit. The loss moves Syracuse to 10-7-2-0 on the season and 1-3-0-0 in the 12-game season series against Utica.

Scott Wedgewood turned aside 31-of-34 shots in net for the Crunch. Michael DiPietro stopped 23-of-24 between the pipes for the Comets. Syracuse went 1-for-6 on the power play, while Utica was 2-for-6.

The Comets were first on the board with a power-play goal 17:29 into the opening frame. Mitch Eliot fired home a slap shot from the center point off assists from Carter Camper and Francis Perron.

Utica doubled their lead with another power-play goal 11:18 into the second period. Sven Baertschi wrapped around the back of the net and fed Reid Boucher for a backdoor shot. Brogan Rafferty tallied the secondary helper.

The Crunch stole one back with a power-play goal of their own late in the middle frame. After a battle in front of the net, Martel got his stick on the puck and jammed it over the goal line. Nolan Valleau and Otto Somppi earned credit for the assists.

Just 1:58 into the third period, Utica regained their two-goal lead. Dylan Blujus netted a long shot from the right point with the help of Tanner Sorenson and Dyson Stevenson.

Baertschi hit the empty net off a pass from Boucher in the final minutes to secure a Comets victory.

The Crunch return to the War Memorial Arena to host the Laval Rocket on Friday at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area