Syracuse Crunch doubles up the Cleveland Monsters

Local Sports

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (SYRACUSE CRUNCH) –

The Syracuse Crunch rolled past the Cleveland Monsters, 6-3, tonight at the Upstate Medical University Arena.

Alex Barre-Boulet put up two goals and three assists for a five-point night, while Peter Abbandonato earned his first two-goal game. The win advances the Crunch to 25-22-3-5 on the season as they sweep the Monsters, 4-0, in the season series.

Goaltender Scott Wedgewood turned aside 21-of-24 shots in net for the Crunch. Veini Vehvilainen stopped 14-of-19 between the pipes for the Monsters. Syracuse went 2-for-5 on the power play and a perfect 5-for-5 on the penalty kill.

The Crunch opened scoring 14:07 into the first period. Barre-Boulet fired a shot from a sharp angle along the goal line that got past Vehvilainen before redirecting off Mathieu Joseph and in. Ross Colton tallied a point on the goal.

The Monsters evened the score 3:02 into the middle frame when Markus Hannikainen sped down the left wing, cut in front of the goal and backhanded a shot back over Wedgewood.

Barre-Boulet put Syracuse back on top three minutes later off a one-timer from the right circle while on the power play. Mathieu Joseph and Anthony Greco recorded the assists.

The Crunch continued to build a lead in the second period as Abbandonato potted back-to-back goals. At 8:32, he grabbed a loose puck in the bottom of the right circle and wristed it home. Daniel Walcott and Barre-Boulet assisted on the marker. Six minutes later, he came down the right wing and backhanded a shot from the faceoff dot for his second of the night. Alex Volkov and Barre-Boulet collected points on the goal.

Syracuse and Cleveland exchanged goals in the third period beginning at the 4:11 mark when Ryan MacInnis sent a feed out from the end boards for Branden Troock to one-time from the right circle. Two minutes later, Volkov found Boris Katchouk on the backdoor for another power-play goal. Taylor Raddysh picked up a point for the secondary helper.

Halfway through the final frame, the Monsters came back within two again. Hannikainen came around the back of the net and sent home a rebound chance during a battle out front for his second of the game. Barre-Boulet then hit the empty net in the final minute of the game to secure the 6-3 win.

The Crunch host the Lehigh Valley Phantoms tomorrow at 7 p.m.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

 


On March 12, 2020, the NCAA canceled its 2020 Men’s Basketball Tournament.  Consequently, and as provided for in the Station’s Basketball Madness Official Rules and due to circumstances beyond the control of the Station (and Nexstar Media Group, Inc.), both the national and local market Basketball Madness Bracket Challenge contests have been canceled. No new entries will be accepted and any previously submitted entries will be deleted within five (5) business days.


2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area