Syracuse Crunch pick up comeback win over Rochester

Local Sports

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (SYRACUSE CRUNCH) –

The Syracuse Crunch rallied back from a two-goal deficit to top the Rochester Americans, 5-4, tonight at Upstate Medical University Arena.

Taylor Raddysh paced the Crunch with a goal and two assists, while Ross Colton (1g, 1a) and Cory Conacher (2a) both had multi-point nights. The win halts a two-game skid and moves the Crunch to 1-1-2-0 in the 12-game season series against the Amerks.

Goaltender Martin Spencer stopped 20-of-24 between the pipes for the Crunch. Andrew Hammond turned aside 28-of-33 in net for the Amerks. Both Syracuse and Rochester went 0-for-4 on the power play.

The Amerks opened scoring when Tyler Randell forced a turnover and scored on the breakaway 5:55 into the game. Rochester doubled their lead halfway through the first period. C.J. Smith picked off a pass in the right circle and backhanded a feed across the slot for John Gilmour to chip in back door.

The Crunch got on the board during 4-on-4 play 9:25 into the second period. Colton rushed into the zone down the right wing and fired a wrister as he cut across the slot. Raddysh tallied a point on the play.

A minute later, the Amerks regained their two-goal lead. Smith centered the puck for Brett Murray to score from between the circles. Casey Mittelstadt earned the secondary helper.

Syracuse pulled back within one 2:47 into the third period. Colton chased the puck down behind the net and threw it back out front for Raddysh to redirect past Hammond. Mathieu Joseph tallied an assist on the goal.

Rochester was again quick to respond and answered with a shorthanded goal from Jean-Sebastien Dea less than two minutes later.

The Crunch kicked off a third-period rally at the 8:36 mark scoring three unanswered to steal the win. Katchouk started it when he found the rebound from Ben Thomas’s shot and swept in the second-chance opportunity. Raddysh got the secondary assist. At 11:25, Pat Sieloff ripped a slap shot from the point off a pass from Conacher for his first with the Crunch. Daniel Walcott then potted the game-winner with 2:28 remaining in the game during a scramble in front of the net. Gemel Smith and Conacher assisted on that tally.

The Crunch travel to face the Binghamton Devils for the final game of the weekend’s three-in-three tomorrow at 3:05 p.m.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area