Syracuse Crunch slide continues with 6-2 home loss to Providence

Local Sports

SYRACUSE N.Y. (SYRACUSE CRUNCH) –

Taylor Raddysh scored both goals for the Syracuse Crunch in a 6-2 loss to the Providence Bruins tonight at the Upstate Medical University Arena.

The loss drops the Crunch to 20-21-3-3 on the season. Syracuse and Providence split the two-game season series.

Goaltender Scott Wedgewood stopped 24-of-29 shots in net for the Crunch. Max Lagace turned aside 30-of-32 between the pipes for the Bruins before being relieved by Dan Vladar in the third period. He went on to stop all seven shots he faced. Syracuse went 0-for-4 on the power play, while Providence converted on 2-of-4.

The Bruins opened scoring 8:04 into the game. Jack Studnicka got a pass from Robert Lantosi, split the defense and backhanded a shot past Wedgewood.

Syracuse evened the score 6:10 into the second period when Raddysh redirected Cameron Gaunce’s left point shot as he cut across the slot. Nolan Valleau earned a point on the goal. Providence quickly regained their lead four minutes later when Urho Vaakanainen passed down for Oskar Steen to jam the puck in from next to the goal post.

At 13:42 Raddysh chipped in a rebound during a scramble in front of the net for his second of the game. Assists went to Danick Martel and Boris Katchouk.

The Bruins went back on top off a power-play goal late in the frame. Lantosi’s shot went wide right, but it bounced off the end boards and set up Trent Frederic on the backdoor.

Providence had a three-goal third period to take the 6-2 victory. At 15:57, Steven Kampfer found a lane with a long shot from the right point while on the power play. Two minutes later, Studnicka potted his second of the night when he hit the empty net. The Bruins added their final tally with 40 seconds left to play. Steen picked off a pass at the blue line and sent it down to Studnicka. He fed it across the crease for Joona Koppanen to finish off backdoor.

The Crunch travel to face the Bridgeport Sound Tigers on Wednesday at 10:30 a.m.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

 


On March 12, 2020, the NCAA canceled its 2020 Men’s Basketball Tournament.  Consequently, and as provided for in the Station’s Basketball Madness Official Rules and due to circumstances beyond the control of the Station (and Nexstar Media Group, Inc.), both the national and local market Basketball Madness Bracket Challenge contests have been canceled. No new entries will be accepted and any previously submitted entries will be deleted within five (5) business days.


2019-2020 Syracuse Crunch Home Games:

  • Saturday, October 19 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Saturday, October 26 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Sunday, October 27 at 5 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, November 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Saturday, November 2 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, November 8 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Friday, November 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, November 16 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, November 23 at 7 p.m. vs. Hartford Wolf Pack
  • Friday, November 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Wednesday, December 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Charlotte Checkers
  • Friday, December 6 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, December 7 at 7 p.m. vs. Bridgeport Sound Tigers
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Saturday, December 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, December 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Friday, January 3 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Friday, January 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Laval Rocket
  • Saturday, January 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, January 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Springfield Thunderbirds
  • Monday, January 20 at 1 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, January 24 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, January 25 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, February 1 at 7 p.m. vs. Providence Bruins
  • Friday, February 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Saturday, February 15 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, February 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Cleveland Monsters
  • Saturday, February 22 at 7 p.m. vs. Lehigh Valley Phantoms
  • Friday, February 28 at 7 p.m. vs. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
  • Saturday, February 29 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Saturday, March 14 at 7 p.m. vs. Belleville Senators
  • Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 20 at 7 p.m. vs. Binghamton Devils
  • Saturday, March 21 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets
  • Friday, March 27 at 7 p.m. vs. Hershey Bears
  • Saturday, April 4 at 7 p.m. vs. Rochester Americans
  • Friday, April 10 at 7 p.m. vs. Toronto Marlies
  • Saturday, April 11 at 7 p.m. vs. Utica Comets

Live Doppler 9 Map Center

CNY View

CNY View

CNY View

Oswego Area

Oswego Area

Syracuse Area

Syracuse Area